Skip to main content

HomePresidents and History

History of Big Sky SHRM 

Founded in 1993, the Big Sky Chapter of SHRM is represented by both large and small employers, and consists of many individuals with diverse backgrounds in the field of human resource and management. It provides a resource for networking with human resource professionals through out the community.

The chapter holds meetings the second Thursday of each month, September through June, 11:30 am –1:00 pm . A new topic of business interest is presented at each meeting. Most luncheon presentations qualify for continuing education credits through the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) and the Human Resource Certification Institute. (HRCI)

The Big Sky Chapter strives to serve Human Resource professionals and advance the Human Resource profession by providing a variety of programs and services to our local chapter members and the community.


Big Sky SHRM Past Presidents 




Alona Simonovich, SHRM - SCP   2020        Roberta Smith, SHRM-SCP, SPHR   2006
Sherrie Sorenson, SHRM-SCP   2019       Elizabeth Rissler Pratt, SPHR, SHRM-SCP   2005
Jodie Rasmussen, SPHR, SHRM-SCP   2018       Kay Strayer   2004
Liesel Brink, PHR, SHRM-CP      2017       Karen Walden, SPHR   2003
Deborah Derrick Gass, SHRM-CP, PHR   2016       Renee Tholen   2002
Adam Ragsdale   2015        Larry Freshler   2001
Cindy Smith, SHRM-CP, PHR    2014       Barb Kennedy   2000
Rebecca Morgan, PHR, SHRM-CP   2013       Larry Freshler   1999
Deb Mitchell   2012       Larry Freshler    1998
Colleen Rudio    2011           1997
Barb Blanchard, SPHR    2010        Sue Kerner   1996
Robert Farmer, SPHR, SHRM-SCP   2009       Mary Oestriech, SPHR    1995
Jody Verity, SPHR   2008       Mary Oestriech, SPHR 
Michelle Halley, SHRM-SCP, SPHR   2007       Janet Van Dyke   1993


Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events